Testing out a theory

This week has been a very busy and stressful week with work – don’t ask me why, but it’s not been great.  Anyway, I knew that I wouldn’t feel the greatest, or cope the best with fasting on stressful days, so I decided to test the “maintain” function of the 5:2 diet.

Part of the benefit of this way of life is that you need to eat what you need in terms of calories on non-fast days to get maximum benefits.

Your “Total Daily Energy Expenditure” (TDEE), quantifies the number of calories you burn in a day.  This measure is best estimated by scaling your Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR) to your level of activity.  There is a lovely website here to help you work this out.

Based on my current weight and mainly sedentary lifestyle, my TDEE works out at 1808 calories per day, so that is what I’ve been trying to achieve for the whole week – even on the stressful days.

I’m pleased to report that I’ve managed this (even having  been out with family for a three course meal!), and funnily enough, my weight has remained at the same level as last week – well, technically I’ve lost 0.2lb, but I’m not getting into the whole decimal places for weighing myself.

Certainly it bodes well for my holidays, as I now have a rough idea of what I can eat and still maintain my weight loss.  Now if only I can factor in a few glasses of wine!

One thought on “Testing out a theory

  1. Pingback: And we’re off… again! | It's my life - I need to take charge of it!

Leave a Reply

